Changes to the Emerald journals interface

by

Over the festive break, publishers Emerald have been busy rebranding. Their website looks a little different, and their logo is different. The swirly ‘e’ has been replaced by something a little more modern-looking. Rest assured, however, that access to content remains the same and access to the database itself has not been affected.

I must admit I’m quite sad to see the swirly ‘e’ go. I’m not normally one for sticking to what I’ve always known (although Starbursts to me will always be Opal Fruits), but I feel quite nostalgic about that old green ‘e’. I couldn’t quite figure out why until I cast my mind back a few years and recollected that Emerald was one of the first electronic databases that provided access to full text content that I used as a student. Prior to studying Library and Information Management, there was very little in the way of electronic resources that was of any relevance whatsoever to me as a musicology student. The odd CD-ROM, perhaps, and I was fully au fait with your average microfilm reader, but electronic resources that provided full text were a bit of an unknown.

Emerald was the first database providing full text access to journal articles that I got to really learn. It was a wonderful revelation: truly, it was as if I’d completed a Moon landing, such was my amazement. It still remains a most useful database, and although I’ve got beyond that Eureka moment of being able to download an article, I still wonder slightly at the availability of research following just a few keystrokes.

 

Leave a Reply

