Freely available, quality digital collections

by

One of the things I love most about my job is the feeling of discovery: I think it’s in a librarian’s nature. Once upon a time, and this was certainly the case when I was a postgraduate student, that tended to manifest itself in finding a book next to the one I had visited the shelf for, and finding that in actual fact, that book was even better. Serendipity. These days, however, things tend to be a little different and discovery is more virtual than it is physical.

The other day, I was searching for some information about one of the national deals to which we subscribe. Quite by change, I stumbled upon the JISC Content website, which I am ashamed to admit I had not come across before. This website brings together top quality academic websites and databases that for the most part have beenĀ made available free of charge. The collections are wide and varied, and range from image banks of showing Britain, the British Cartoon Archive, digitised countryside images, an online archive of early music, worldwide observations on the weather from around the time of the First World War, an archive of Welsh Journals online and the published and unpublished papers of Sir Isaac Newton. And many more besides.

I’m off on my holidays after today, so I do hope that however you are spending your summer, you have an enjoyable time, and I will be back blogging in August!

Leave a Reply

